Christmas, December, and Random Thoughts

Well, here it is December 20, 2014. My last post was Veterans Day. Guess it goes without saying that I’ve been busy. School is going very well – I made the President’s List of Scholars, and Phi Theta Kappa, as well as holding a 4.0 GPA. Classes resume January 12, 2015, and I’m looking forward to it. Judging from the fall semester, I can guess that my posts will be sporadic at best. There simply aren’t enough hours in the day for all I do – working part time at the writing center at school, as well as for Event Operations Group at college sporting events, taking care of Mark and Ryan, doing my schoolwork, spending time with the grandkids and kids, and stealing an hour or two every so often just for me. However, I’m loving it, and wouldn’t change a thing.

Its still really busy here with the holidays, along with my first colonoscopy December 29th (price of middle age), and catching up on the major housecleaning that simply gets pushed aside with my schedule. So this post will cover quite a few things that are on my mind, just to get them out there in case I don’t have time later. First off, let me wish each of you the best of holiday seasons, whatever holidays you celebrate, and the greatest of New Year’s, and thank you so very much for reading my scribbles whenever I have time to put them out there. You may not realize it, but it means a great deal to me that each of you think enough of my thoughts to spend your time reading what I put out.

Secondly, I have some Christmas wishes. For all my dear friends who have entered my life because of the monster called cancer – I’m so very blessed to have each and every one of you in my life, but I still hate and despise cancer. But each of you holds a special place for me, and for each of you I wish peace – whatever that may mean in your life. For all who remember me “way back when” – TLBYAKY (those who this applies to will understand). For all who are on the academic road with me, or are helping my journey – y’all ROCK. For all those who have entered my life for any other reason – multiplied blessings to you all, and thanks for allowing me a little shard of your world – it means a lot to me. One special wish – to all who have experienced loss this year (and there are many) – may you find peace and comfort in the memory of your loved ones, and know I’m here if there is any way I can help you.

Next, although I really wanted this to be its own post, I don’t want to miss it so I’m including it here. December 27, 2014, is a very special day for me. No, not because its the day I turn 51. Because, if he were still here with me, my daddy, Alan McLaurin Shipley, would be 100 years old. My original plan was to get a bottle of his favorite, Old Grandad, and toast to him, the life he lived, and the memory that keeps me company day in and day out. But – I have a colonoscopy the 29th (as mentioned before), and I have to start preparation for that on my birthday, so alcohol is out. Daddy, I’ll toast you New Year’s Eve, even if its only with a cup of coffee – Happy Century Mark!

This year has had its highs and lows for us all. Some of us have had more on one end of the spectrum than others, but that’s okay. In just 11 days, 2014 will be a memory. Some of us have memories that are painful and raw, memories of loss, memories of negative life events. Some of us have truly wonderful memories of this past year, that we will gladly take out and thumb through in the recesses of our minds for many years to come. However, all of us have the opportunity to take the 365 days of memories that encompass 2014 and learn from them. If there were mistakes – and we all make them, it is part of being human – learn why they were made and how to avoid repeating them. The loss of loved ones – remember the good times, they help our loved ones live on with us, even if they are no longer here. The world events that made us sigh, shed a tear, or simply shake our heads in disbelief – see what you can do to educate those in your little corner of the world so that this world is a little better, a little nicer, a little saner. Because you see, January 1, 2015 is a new, blank canvas for each of us. Our painting of 2014 is nearly complete, and the possibilities for 2015 stretch before each of us, waiting to see which ones we will grasp, and which ones we will let slip by for whatever reason. Let us each see just how beautiful and varied our canvas can be.

Multiplied Blessings to each of you, and may the joy a child feels in this holiday season infect each of us, no matter our age.

Thanks for your time in reading this – I truly appreciate each of you.

This entry was posted in advocacy, awareness, cancer, compassion, death, family, friends, holiday, humor, illness, life, respect, support and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

