Perspective

Sitting here contemplating William Shakespeare, going over conversations that have happened in the last few days, and my brain does what it does – the writing light comes on. So, here’s a word for you to contemplate – perspective. From dictionary.com:

noun
1.
a technique of depicting volumes and spatial relationships on a flat surface.
Compare aerial perspective, linear perspective.
2.
a picture employing this technique, especially one in which it is prominent:
an architect’s perspective of a house.
3.
a visible scene, especially one extending to a distance; vista:
a perspective on the main axis of an estate.
4.
the state of existing in space before the eye:
The elevations look all right, but the building’s composition is a failure in perspective.
5.
the state of one’s ideas, the facts known to one, etc., in having a meaningful interrelationship:
You have to live here a few years to see local conditions in perspective.
6.
the faculty of seeing all the relevant data in a meaningful relationship:
Your data is admirably detailed but it lacks perspective.
7.
a mental view or prospect:
the dismal perspective of terminally ill patients.
adjective
8.
of or pertaining to the art of perspective, or represented according to its laws.

Busy word, isn’t it? I like 5, 6 and 7 personally, because those are the definitions in my mind. Lets add one more definition: Margie’s definition. The way you look at life.

So, a couple of my random thoughts. Thought one: Our perspective on life changes daily, and sometimes so slightly that we don’t even realize it. As we live, grow up, mature, and experience life in general, the things we experience can change how we see life. Perfect example of this – do you look at the world like you did at age 5? Age 10? Age 15? Age 20? Before you married? Before you had kids? Before you ever had a full-time job? You get the picture, and you know the answer. Life itself alters our perspective.

Thought two: People in our lives change our perspective. This is actually the paragraph that came into my mind while I was contemplating studying (note the contemplating – I’ll get there).  The reason is simple, and it stems from a conversation yesterday. I’m not going to spotlight the other person in the conversation, but when she reads this, she will know. I made a comment about having trouble dealing with my children’s ages (30, 29 and nearly 21 – it’s the nearly 21 that is (was) bothering me). She told me to stop and think about all those whose kids would never reach 30. Or 25. Or all the parents who would never see their kids reach 30. Or 2. It didn’t really sink in at the time. But, about a 27 hour time delay and this spotlight went on in my brain. Big mental face palm! She is SO RIGHT! I’m still here to see my kids reach these milestones. My daddy didn’t even see me reach 16. My mom didn’t see her second (or third) grandchild, or my 22nd birthday. My father in law didn’t see his grandson and namesake born. I can go on, and I’m sure you can too. But thanks to someone who, with her unique perspective on life, saw my dilemma and put it into a NEW perspective for me, I can go right back to just celebrating every day I am given, period.

Ordinarily, I would put the paragraph here about the perspective of the life altering or terminal patient. But not tonight. Tonight, I’ll let you write that paragraph in your mind if you so desire. If your perspective has been altered by a disease or illness, then I think that goes along with thought one. But I will ask you a question, which is the very question I had to ask myself. Does your perspective NEED altering?

Thanks for your time in reading this. Please share if you are so inclined. Now back to Shakespeare.

This entry was posted in advocacy, awareness, cancer, compassion, disability, family, friends, humor, illness, life, major illness, support, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

