Normal

Okay – way back about 9 months ago I wrote a blog called words. I’ve touched on the meaning of words in various posts. This post is dedicated to one word. The word – NORMAL. as per Miriam Webster online –

1nor·mal
adjective \ˈnȯr-məl\

: usual or ordinary : not strange

: mentally and physically healthy

There is a lot more listed, mostly to do with the use of the word normal in relation to mathematical equations. So I skipped those, because they don’t apply to my needs today. Feel free to look them up. I found something even better than the definition, though. Its the following:

Synonyms
average, common, commonplace, cut-and-dried (also cut-and-dry), everyday, garden-variety, ordinary, prosaic, routine, run-of-the-mill, standard, standard-issue, unexceptional, unremarkable, usual, workaday

Antonyms
abnormal, exceptional, extraordinary, odd, out-of-the-way, strange, unusual

Related Words
regular, typical, unextraordinary; familiar, homely, plain, plain-Jane, popular, vulgar; natural; customary, wonted; insignificant, trivial, unimportant; frequent, habitual; expected, predictable

Near Antonyms
curious, funny, peculiar, quaint, queer; aberrant, anomalous, atypical, irregular, untypical; rare, recherché, scarce; fantastic (also fantastical), phenomenal; bizarre, far-out, Kafkaesque, outrageous, outré, wacky (also whacky), way-out, weird, wild; eccentric, idiosyncratic, kooky (also kookie), nonconformist, oddball, offbeat, unconventional, unorthodox; freak, freakish; conspicuous, notable, novel, outstanding, prominent, salient, signal, striking, unexampled, unprecedented; singular, unique, unparalleled

So, lets start with the definitions – USUAL OR ORDINARY; NOT STRANGE; MENTALLY AND PHYSICALLY HEALTHY. That settles it – I am NOT normal. Because, you see, I am not considered physically healthy. I have degenerative disc disease, arthritis, and as of today, plantar fasciitis, as well as lipidiemia (high cholesterol), and nerve damage in my legs. Plus I am carrying around a tad more weight than is “normal” for a woman my height. Besides the weight – and possibly the way I walk – you cannot see any of my conditions. From a distance, you would categorize me “normal”. But in truth – I’m not, by definition.

We could spend hours here. The list of synonyms, antonyms, related words and near antonyms are worthy of literal volumes. Some that stand out for me – in the Synonyms list – EVERYDAY. Yep, that’s me! I deal with my health issues every single blessed day. In the Antonyms list – EXCEPTIONAL and EXTRAORDINARY. Both words that I would hug you if you used them to categorize me.  Related words, my favorite is NATURAL. There is nothing phony about me – I am what I am. But the Near Antonyms list is my favorite. Go right ahead and call me FUNNY, FANTASTIC, PHENOMENAL, STRIKING, or UNIQUE!

Anyway, this post started out as an answer to a friends blog. He said he just wanted to be treated normal. So do I! Except to be perfectly honest, I can’t think of a single solitary person I know who is. So instead – just treat me the same as you do every other person you deal with. Shake my hand, give me a hug, share your day (highs and lows). So, Mike Terrill, I put this out there for you. Henceforth, I will not treat you normal, because I wouldn’t insult you by treating you any differently than I treat everyone else! You are far too EXCEPTIONAL to be treated NORMAL!

The point – no matter the physical condition, mental condition, or monetary status – treat others as you would want to be treated. Hmmmmm, seems to me somebody coined that idea a couple thousand years ago………………. Have a wonderful day, because you, too, are EXCEPTIONAL!!!!!

This entry was posted in advocacy, awareness, compassion, family, friends, humor, illness, life, support, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

