Veterans Day, 2013

If you look up Veterans Day, it is a day to remember those who have made the ultimate sacrifice for this nation. Those who have given their lives, so that we may be free. It has also become a day to remember those who have served, or are serving, in this nations military. I had the privilege of serving in the United States Navy from May, 1982 until June, 1985. Hindsight is perfect, of course. In hindsight, I probably should have stayed on active duty. See my previous blog about my son Ryan to see my reason for leaving, as I could no longer in good conscience put the Navy first – he had to come first. But, my time of service, and my Honorable Discharge, allows me the right to the title of “Veteran”. I do not take that title lightly. I take it with much pride. I still believe my oath – I swore to protect and defend the Constitution, against all enemies, foreign or domestic. To be able to say I served my country is the highest honor, ever. Nothing can top it. So I’ll keep this short. To all those who would thank me for my service, I say with honor and pride it was MY privilege to serve, and you are most welcome. To my fellow veterans, thank you as well. To the impostors – you are beneath my contempt.

Happy Veterans Day.

This entry was posted in awareness, friends, life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

